There will be no "in the future"



  •  but some programs just refuse to accept it

    denial is the natural first reacion when facing death



  • Leaving the box unchecked and clicking "No" means "I'll keep asking every time you try to uninstall".

    Checking the box and clicking "No" means "next time you try to uninstall, I won't ask first".

    Checking the box makes a difference, therefore the box is not unnecessary.

    QED.



  • I like to start my programs' uninstallers even if I cancel them afterwards. I like to keep them on edge.



  •  @da Doctah said:

    therefore the box is not unnecessary.

    being not unnecessary and actually  being useful are two different things



  • @da Doctah said:

    Checking the box makes a difference, therefore the box is not unnecessary.

    QED.

    You've proved that the box may have an effect on the program, but seem to have forgotten to mention what it is necessary for. I can't even think off-hand of a scenario where someone has clicked "uninstall" without meaning to uninstall the program, but knows he is unlikely ever to do so again. As such, I suspect that it's actually an entirely uselesss setting created by the sort of person who thinks showering people with confirmation prompts for everything makes for a good user interface.

    But at least Media Manager for WALKMAN 1.2's problems will stop being SEMI-HYBRID code's problems in a few minutes.



  • @__moz said:

    I suspect that it's actually an entirely uselesss setting created by the sort of person who thinks showering people with confirmation prompts

    I prefer to shower them with Zyklon B.



  • @da Doctah said:

    Leaving the box unchecked and clicking "No" means "I'll keep asking every time you try to uninstall".

    Checking the box and clicking "No" means "next time you try to uninstall, I won't ask first".

    Checking the box makes a difference, therefore the box is not unnecessary.

    QED.

    Also the fact that they're using a Yes/No dialog library that puts the "do not show again" checkbox on every message is a very, very good thing. Even if it's a little overzealous in this case. My life would be more annoyance-free if every app did that.



  • @blakeyrat said:

    Also the fact that they're using a Yes/No dialog library that puts the "do not show again" checkbox on every message is a very, very good thing. Even if it's a little overzealous in this case. My life would be more annoyance-free if every app did that.
     

    that still doesn't mean the app actually checks/saves the state of that checkbox for every dialog. didn't use the program so i can't really be sure, but having my share of experience with other sony "music management" apps i'd bet it does not



  • @SEMI-HYBRID code said:

    sony

    Oh Sony? Yeah, it's complete shit.

    Sony can't even make an easy-to-use on-screen interface for a fucking camcorder. What makes them think they have any hope of making usable computer software?



  • By the way, that dialog is part of the windows "programs and features" utility. Selecting that box will stop windows asking next time you uninstall a program.



  • @robbak said:

    By the way, that dialog is part of the windows "programs and features" utility. Selecting that box will stop windows asking next time you uninstall a program.
     

    no, it's not. i actually clicked "no" the first time, to try to "uninstall" two or three different programs to check that. it is owned by windows "programs and features" utility (as in, "programs and features" is its parent window, and it sets the title of dialog box), but its content is generated by the specific software's uninstall utility itself (it's layout and content differs between various programs, e.g. Fleet Command (game from 1998) does not have the checkbox, has different wording, and uses the old (non-graphical, as they call it) common controls library).



  • @SEMI-HYBRID code said:

    (non-graphical, as they call it) common controls

    This sounds suspicious.



  • @SEMI-HYBRID code said:

    (non-visual-styles version, as they call it) of common controls

    FTFM, sorry

     

    (source: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/oldnewthing/archive/2011/05/26/10168421.aspx )



  • @__moz said:

    I suspect that it's actually an entirely uselesss setting created by the sort of person who thinks showering people with confirmation prompts for everything makes for a good user interface.
    I don't think it's incredibly unusual to regularly uninstall the same piece of crap. VLC, for example, wants to be uninstalled before reinstallation every time it's updated - you can just install over the previous installation, but it's better to do it clean. So yes, I would find some use in that check-box on the VLC uninstall dialogue.



  • @intertravel said:

    VLC, for example, wants to be uninstalled before reinstallation every time it's updated

    Then they should MAKE THE FUCKING INSTALLER AUTOMATICALLY UNINSTALL THE OLD VERSION PASSING A /SILENT SWITCH OR SOMETHING. Telling the user to "oh, please uninstall the previous version via control panel" is retarded.



  • It does automatically run the uninstaller first, but it doesn't do it silently.



  • @derula said:

    @intertravel said:
    VLC, for example, wants to be uninstalled before reinstallation every time it's updated

    Then they should MAKE THE FUCKING INSTALLER AUTOMATICALLY UNINSTALL THE OLD VERSION PASSING A /SILENT SWITCH OR SOMETHING. Telling the user to "oh, please uninstall the previous version via control panel" is retarded.

    You don't have to go to Control Panel to do it - but you get the yes/no dialogue box when it starts the uninstaller. I'm not sure you even need to uninstall, and you might want to have two parallel installations or some such, so they shouldn't be doing it silently.



  • The other point is that the uninstall might fail for some reason and you might want to try it again later. So yes, it's not a bad thing to have the checkbox there.


  • Discourse touched me in a no-no place

    @intertravel said:

    @derula said:
    @intertravel said:
    VLC, for example, wants to be uninstalled before reinstallation every time it's updated

    Then they should MAKE THE FUCKING INSTALLER AUTOMATICALLY UNINSTALL THE OLD VERSION PASSING A /SILENT SWITCH OR SOMETHING. Telling the user to "oh, please uninstall the previous version via control panel" is retarded.

    You don't have to go to Control Panel to do it - but you get the yes/no dialogue box when it starts the uninstaller. I'm not sure you even need to uninstall, and you might want to have two parallel installations or some such, so they shouldn't be doing it silently.
    You aren't going to be making a parallel install with the automatic updater. A parallel install should be a commandline switch on the installer.



  • @intertravel said:

    I'm not sure you even need to uninstall, and you might want to have two parallel installations or some such, so they shouldn't be doing it silently.

    Yes. I think the installer should ask "do you want to uninstall previous version?", and when clicked yes, uninstall it with /silent switch. Or maybe that's overkill?

    Anyway. Are you sure that parallel installations of VLC even work? Don't they copy stuff to system directories? I dunno, I usually use K-Lite Codec Pack, which also wants to be uninstalled before update, and I'm pretty sure that that will copy stuff to system dirs. Or at least registers system-wide stuff the other version would overwrite would it be installed in parallel. I figured that part of the reason you should uninstall the old version was to prevent parallel installations. But then, no idea if it works for VLC any similar.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to What the Daily WTF? was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.