Good reading for self-taught programmers?

• I find myself (due to our team being down a QA person and a designer) often without business work to do. My company says that an acceptable use of time when that happens is "self-improvement in your job" (my paraphrase).

I'm also entirely self-taught. The only programming class I had was a Numerical Methods class as an undergrad physics major, and that was more about convincing Matlab to do what I wanted, not actual programming. And that was a long time ago (16 years).

So what should I read? What books, long-form articles, or other sources (other than TDWTF) have you found helpful in your IT careers? I'm willing to go quite broad-based here, not just programming/computer science. Things like product development, etc.

Ideally these would be available as free (or cheap) pdfs, but other suggestions are welcome.

• Considered Harmful

@Benjamin-Hall The Pragmatic Programmer, the 12 factor, Agile, and GoF manifestos, and the current Java Language Specification.

for extra fun, take a drink whenever the JLS introduces a novel word or hyphenated term.

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

@Benjamin-Hall said in Good reading for self-taught programmers?:

So what should I read? What books, long-form articles, or other sources (other than TDWTF) have you found helpful in your IT careers?

If you're doing anything with UIs, consider:

The copy I have is outdated (and an older edition) but very good. I found it helped me think much more clearly about how to design the GUI of an application for users instead of my convenience.

Also,