SQLite in Python

• As mentioned in a Lounge thread, I'm scraping some public data from a US government website (so the data is totally in the public domain). There may be a way to download the data in a more machine-friendly way, but I couldn't find it, so scraping the web it is.

The data is big, and I'm having memory problems. My whole WSL VM is crashing when the data hits about 4 GB. Somebody suggested sticking it in a SQLite db, and that makes sense for how I want to query it when I finish munging it out of the HTML, so I'm trying that.

The script that's doing the munging is working fine (as much as it can without running out of memory; it works if I limit it to a small subset to test), so I don't need any Python help (at the moment, anyway); I'm just mentioning that for context.

But I'm not a db guy. I've done a little with MySQL, years ago, so my SQL is limited and very rusty, and I'm brand new to SQLite. This is the main part I need help with.

The Python is producing a nested dictionary (although I don't really need that if I stuff the data into the db on the fly). The data structure is like this: The dictionary key is a string; call it name. The value is another dictionary with 3 key-value pairs:

• 'count': integer specifying the number of times name occurs in the data;
    • 'type': list of strings
    • 'place': Yet another dictionary:
      • Key: string foo
      • Value: Count of times name occurs in foo
    { 
      'Fred': {'count': 17, 'type': [ ... ], 'place': {'here': 3, 'there', 14} } , 
      'Polygeekery': {'count': 1, 'type': ['flaming'], 'place': {'TDWTF': 1} } , 
    }

The relationship between 'name' and 'type' is many-to-many. There are maybe a couple of dozen types, and each name may have 0 or more items from that set. I know how to create this many-to-many relationship in SQL.