Battery packs and literature

• I've got a situation at work. One customer needs our products individually solar-powered. So one of our electronics engineers got the task of integrating a battery and solar charger into our product. We were a bit time-constrained, so he decided the easiest way was to use off-the-shelf 18650 cells, with integrated protection ICs, in a 4s2p pack. With the individual cells in spring-loaded holders, which are connected to a backing PCB with the protector/balancer IC for the whole thing.

Now to me this screams :wtf: . Let us number the ways:

1. I'd understand soldering matched cells into pairs(*), but random off-the shelf cells, without testing them thoroughly?
    2. *=If there were no protection ICs between the 2 in a parallel pair.
    3. Spring-loaded contacts add a further resistance difference between the cells in a pair. And oxidation of the contacts, won't that be a problem over time?

But... is it wrong? I'm a software engineer, so I have some healthy awareness of the holes in me electronics knowledge, even if I have been able to cobble together a PCB every now and then.
    So, my first question here is: Am I worrying for nothing, or is this an actual :wtf: ?

Also, even if I were correct in that it is a problem that will blow in our collective faces sooner or later, I'm going to have to make my case via literature. I'm arguing against a full-time electronics designer, for benefit of a superior who doesn't have a technical degree. And I'm doing it from a software engineering position. So I'm going to need a rather plainly-worder "don't do this" in black and white.
    Does anyone happen to know handy literature for this?
    (And if I was wrong, I assume the same literature can be used to educate me. So do please tell me if you have something that proves me wrong, too.)

ETA:
    Here's a picture to illustrate the current design:
    batterypack.png