What's the best way to convert form data to XML in javascript?

• I have a program (a Dungeon Master helper app) that allows you to import and create your own creatures (among other things). Creating them on the tablet is...painful (no keyboard, tiny screen, etc).

But you can import XML compendiums in a homegrown format, so...easy, right? Just write a simple UI form to take the data and shove it into XML.

So I've (to learn electron/node/JS better) written a simple one-page electron app that does just that. Where I'm getting stuck is at the best (ie non-insane) way to map that input (in the form of <input> and <textarea> elements) into this particular XML format.

Standard JSON -> XML libraries require you to write your JSON in a particularly odd way. Simple translation code I found doesn't let you map an array of elements into a bunch of repeated, identically-named XML elements[1].

Am I going to have to do this by hand? Extract each element by id, grab its innerHTML (no attributes here, just text nodes) and manually generate the DOM elements[2]?

[1] It expects something like

<trait>
        <name>foo</name>
        <text>a bunch of text here</name>
        ...many more text lines possibly
      </trait>
     <trait>
        <name>bar</name>
        <text>a bunch of text here</name>
        ...many more text lines possibly
      </trait>

[2] I plan to use the DOM (xml form) API, not hand-write the tags by concatenating strings.

• ♿ (Parody)

Is the XML schema complicated?

If it's just a bunch of <trait> elements like you outlined, using a "conversion library" seems overkill.

Just loop over your inputs and build something using DOMParser or even string concatenation.

• @apapadimoulis said in What's the best way to convert form data to XML in javascript?:

Is the XML schema complicated?

If it's just a bunch of <trait> elements like you outlined, using a "conversion library" seems overkill.