Are there any programming/IT certifications worth anything?

• So I'm trying to keep my options open with my upcoming move/job-change, and I'm considering having something in the software development or IT fields as a fallback. But my degree is in Physics, and is pretty specialized.

Are there any certifications worth looking into? Things that generally look better than "coding camps" or other such non-sense? Things that (hopefully) don't cost a fortune and can be studied for/gotten at home/online?

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

@Benjamin-Hall said in Are there any programming/IT certifications worth anything?:

Are there any certifications worth looking into?

It's not of any direct use to you, but I know that one of the Masters degree programmes we offer is for people wanting to study CS who have a degree in something else (and we always welcome mature students as they don't have to be taught to think for themselves). Perhaps there's going to be a local university near to where you'll be that will offer that sort of thing? Worth a look…

• @Benjamin-Hall said in Are there any programming/IT certifications worth anything?:

Are there any certifications worth looking into?

Yes. But their value is going to vary wildly depending on what you want to use them for. Resume/CV building using certifications is totally possible, but the value of any particular certification is pretty narrow. A certification for C++ developement is not going to apply to a Java based job.

In general I categorize these certifications into three groups (that admittedly have a lot of overlap between them)

1. The Coding Camp
      • These certifications are very low value to me as a hiring manager. They show interest, but content wise they are not impressive