Finding actual Python attributes

• I'm a Java programmer trying to adapt to Python. Use Eclipse for both. In Java, in Eclipse, if you type a variable's name, and then the dot operator, you'll see a list of attributes, and you can generally depend on those being available at runtime. However, I have found that in Python, this is not necessarily the case.

ca25b5ab-4efa-49e8-98f8-0a5c21dfafb6-image.png

The screenshot shows that newgrid has an attribute datatype.

However, when I run it, I get the error:

line 794, in ShowGrids
    type = newgrid.datatype
    AttributeError: 'numpy.ndarray' object has no attribute 'datatype'

Anyone care to explain?

• BINNED

Do "datatype" and/or "dateStyle" appear elsewhere in the codebase and it's just suggesting those without the context of attributes?

I ask because, though I've little experience with numpy, "dateStyle" doesn't seem like something it would handle.

• Typical python don't declares parmeters type, hence from a local context Intellisense has no idea what could be sensible.

Some editors will offer anything that is an attribute in any class, hoping the writer could narrow to something appropiate.; by example if I know the object is an numpy.ndarray and the context sugest an object type, I can bet on .dtype .

With type annotations in recent pythons, linting and Intellisense could do better (if it gains adoption, some people dislike annotations)

Another explanation to your brief sample can be: ShowGrids was expecting a type Z in newgrid, type Z in fact has an attr .datatype, but newgrind was mistakenly assigned a numpy.ndarray, which does not have that attr.

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

@jinpa said in Finding actual Python attributes:

Anyone care to explain?