C# / Azure - Help

• I've been working on C# for about 3 - 4 years professionally but I still feel like I have gaps in my knowledge or that I know C# superficially. The reason I think I feel this way is because I have used only a very limited subset of the language and the .NET Framework professionally. Most things I've worked on were usually glorified CRUD applications, and the language features that I could use were severely limited by whatever were company-wide practices at that time. I've read the books and I promptly forget most of the stuff in a couple weeks and the Idea of "Build something that you feel like doing" is not that motivating. I've built couple things that I thought I could put on Github but the motivation fizzled out.

I'd like to get more comfortable with the language by building something that touches most features of the language and the .NET framework would really help. I've tried simple things like To-Do lists and day planners and what not. The simpler it is the faster the motivation dies. Is there any sufficiently complex hobby projects that you've done that helped you nail you understanding of .NET better? I'd love to hear them.

PS: I'd prefer to hear something that's worked for you and not a generic idea that seems interesting. I don't mind if your projects are not .NET specific either. ALso if it includes Azure that would be even more awesome.

• 🚽 Regular

@stillwater I didn't finish it, but it was in C#. I made my own interface for an APC SmartUPS. They use MODBUS over USB (and the protocol is sort-of available) so that's quite a fun thing to write a communications engine for. For the graphics I got into GDI+ which was quite fun, there are so many graphics drawing techniques and it's chock full of recursive stuff and things I'd never even heard of before like Dijkstra's algorithm.

I think something similar but with WPF and EntityFramework would be a bit of exercise for quite a wide swath of C# and the framework.