How to implement a button opening a new window in GTK

• Resident Tankie ☭

I'm using Ardour on Linux mainly because I'm a masochist and this is a project of mine (I'm using an old laptop as an always-on recorder to export rehearsals on the fly). The mixer strip in Ardour shows processing applied to the tracks in a small box over the faders. This box is really small on a small laptop screen. There is currently no way to detach this box, so I'd like to implement it. How hard can it be?

So, I'm not asking you to give me the solution, I'd like you to point me towards it as I'm a total beginner when it comes to GUI programming. It's a Gtk app ( :doing_it_wrong: ). What has always blocked me from actually delving into programming is the actual motivation to do something, and now I have it, and it's probably a very simple task I should be able to pull off.

• Notification Spam Recipient

@admiral_p said in How to implement a button opening a new window in GTK:

it's probably a very simple task I should be able to pull off.

Keep that attitude. Chain it to your ankle if you have to. You're going to need it on your journey....

• Notification Spam Recipient

Ardour on Linux

Doing an extremely quick scan of their "How to do" instructions, I came across this:

Source Code

You'll need to build this yourself. That can be a challenging and complex process, especially on Windows and OS X. We don't provide help for this process, and we can't support the end result. But if you're hoping to modify Ardour or get involved in our development process, this is where to start.

Their Linux guide starts here: https://ardour.org/building_linux.html

Hopefully you get that far. Good luck!

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

Gtk