Flash vs HTML 5

• Some people are in a hurry to replace Flash with HTML 5 video. While I'm no big fan of Flash, I came across this comment on Flash vs HTML 5 that raises some issues I hadn't previous considered. I thought they were interesting (assuming they are correct):

@Flash vs HTML 5 said:

Flash is easily blocked, HTML 5 is not.

Flash can be allowed on a per-instance basis, HTML 5 will be hard or impossible to run on a per-instance basis.

Flash is rarely used to construct entire sites, HTML 5 is aimed at being used for entire sites.

Flash segregates a lot of multimedia away from other content, this is a very good thing.  HTML 5 does the opposite.

Do you want Flash vulnerabilities or HTML 5 vulnerabilities? You can pick one or both, but you can't pick none.

• I've yet to see a HTML5 game that has a volume control. JUST PUTTING THAT ONE OUT THERE!

• I'm not an expert on Flash and I agree that HTML5 has many flaws, but I think if you compare it with Flash, it actually looks rather good.

@Flash vs HTML 5 said:

Flash is easily blocked, HTML 5 is not.

Depends what exactly you mean with "blocking HTML5" - or, put another way, why you're blocking Flash in the first place. If you want to get rid of interactive content, you can still block JavaScript as you always could. (The degree on which you can selectively block certain JS functions varies between browsers AFAIK, but almost all relevant browsers support per-site-blocks and muting audio tracks)

If you want to get rid of ads (which was a lucky but pretty coincidental side-effect of blocking Flash) get a decent ad-blocker.

@Flash vs HTML 5 said:

Flash can be allowed on a per-instance basis, HTML 5 will be hard or impossible to run on a per-instance basis.

If by "instance" you mean "page", see above. If you want to block specific elements, you'll probably get a roughly equal effect by filtering <audio>, <video> and <canvas> elements.
    @Flash vs HTML 5 said: