Job "Security" .. HA!

• As I've mentioned on this site before, I've been programming for 16 years, more than 7 of it professionally ... Well, I learned an important lesson in recent times ...

Like most my first technical job was as an IT grunt ... You know, tech support, building systems, etc (This is back in the days when you actually had to know how to set jumper and dip switch settings and what not, so it didn't take 5 minutes to throw together a PnP system) ... Over the years I worked my way up to my current position as a Senior Software Engineer/Lead Developer.  I head up all C++ development for the company I work for ...

Now when I started this job I figured I'd hit gold ... My boss is actually a programmer as well, he spent many years writing software before moving "up" in the world and we all know an IT boss overseeing programmers, that has no programming experience makes for a really shitty boss ... <Plot thickens> ...

As time went on things of course got more stressful.  Recently the company aquired a contract to replace the entire security system at probably the most well known, most highly sought after universities in the US (I won't say any names but just think of the 8th letter in the alphabet) ... This of course causes stress in the company which in turn causes my boss to become a major asshole ...