Survival of the WTFest

• I'm an IT guy, I've always been an IT guy until this last year. I've climbed my way up from selling hardware to software development via building, repairing, cabling, installing and sysadmin. I've ranted about this before and how when I got this job doing testing it was a little strange, the whole reason I got this job was because I wrote them some software so I thought I'd end up doing that or the sysadmin thing again.

Anyway, the regular IT guy is on holiday so the boss asks me to cover. I'm happy to do this because A. I'm more comfortable doing the job I'm most familiar with and B. I'm getting paid extra for it.

Last Friday afternoon I track the regular IT guy down about ten minutes before we close up for the day and try and get a little help, he is a mechanical engineer by trade (yes I know, nobody in this company is tasked with doing the job they are best suited to, that's manglement for you!) and the IT thing is his way of keeping the company by the balls, its basically empire building and making himself invaluable.

I'm asking simple questions like "Are their any common problems I should watch out for.", "How do you manage your backups.", "Please provide me with a domain administrator account." etc.

Long story short, I had to ask him for a lot of things that should be written down in the safe. I have made the point to the higher ups, "What would happen if this guy suddenly died and took all his passwords with him?"

So he runs me through a few basic things, shows me how he handles his backups but won't give me a domain administrator account or control over our Google apps. He isn't prepared to relinquish that much power and besides "You won't need that." (Because of course users never do things like, forget their password or want software updates installing.)

Fortunately he didn't have to because his systems are about as secure as a cheap wall safe, inch thick front, tin foil back.