&νβσπ;

• For some reason I'm still on a bunch of mailing lists at my university even though I graduated last year. Today I got an email that had the following text:

information sessions for students studying:
    •&νβσπ;Software & Web Development
    •&νβσπ;Information Systems
    •&νβσπ;Telecommunications & Networking

Searching Google for &νβσπ; brings back 700 results. What is this strange series of characters and where does it come from?

• Given it starts with & and ends with ;, It looks like some kind of psuedo-html control code that was mangled by character encodings or a badly written parser. Or both.

• nbsp, perhaps?

• Specifically, it's " " written in the font Symbol. (Or else the Unicode characters that look the same, like were used in the thread title.) Equivalently, it can be seen as " " with English letters replaced by their Greek phonetic equivalents.

• @Daniel15 said:

For some reason I'm still on a bunch of mailing lists at my university even though I graduated last year. Today I got an email that had the following text:

information sessions for students studying:
    •&νβσπ;Software & Web Development
    •&νβσπ;Information Systems
    •&νβσπ;Telecommunications & Networking

Searching Google for &νβσπ; brings back 700 results. What is this strange series of characters and where does it come from?

Are you using Lotus Notes? I wonder if there is a Lotus Notes expert somewhere that could help...

The Power Of Domino Compels You! The Power Of Domino Compels You! Yellow Dude, Come Out Of The Shadows!

• @ais523 said:

Specifically, it's " " written in the font Symbol. (Or else the Unicode characters that look the same, like were used in the thread title.) Equivalently, it can be seen as " " with English letters replaced by their Greek phonetic equivalents.

You devil! You must be one of those sudoku people!

• @ais523 said: