So where is the balance between cowboy and waterfall?

•  I'm asking you guys this seriously, because I've worked in both (but mostly in cowboy land); I can see the pros and cons for both, and I know there has to be a balance point in the middle somewhere but I don't know where.  When I was an engineer, all I cared about was doing my coding/testing/getting today's job done.  Now that I'm a BA for a team of developers, my job is managing processes to enable the devs to get their jobs done.  The one thing I'm struggling with is the sort of power-pull between principals of quality (which entails planning and good requirements that are documented, and controlling changes and scope creep) and cowboyness.  The cowboy pressure comes from two directions:  management pressure to deliver yesterday, and engineers who want to dive into coding, self-test, and not be bothered with anything they perceive as beaucracy.

More specifically, here is what I have:  The culture is pretty nicely in the middle of the two extremes.  It's agile-like but they refuse to be pigeonholed into a methodology.  We have twice-a-month meetings with all the dev teams to quickly review our coming releases to make sure everybody is aware of potential impacts on each other's systems, security, finance, operations.  We have formal QA with a really good QA team.  At the beginning of each year, the release management team publishes the release schedule for the entire coming year.    That's the extent of our beaurocracy, everything else is left to our discretion.

Here's what I struggle with: