If Only

• I'm just wondering if it's healthy for me to have this slight distaste for if-statements. I see "natural paths" as prettier than "if this then do that else do such".

I mean, look at a ballpoint pen. It's got a rotating cylinder with protrusions that push out or hold in the cartridge. Every click just rotates the cylinder, and the pen's state is inverted.

There's no manual intelligent checking:

//not sexy (despite appearances!)
    onclick {
    if (state = 'inside') pushOut();
    elseif (state = 'outside') pullIn();
    }

But it's all automatic:

//sexy
    onclick {
    state = !state
    changeState(state);
    }

No semi-intelligence, just the input doing something different based on the "hard" state of the machine. If-statements are "soft".

I also don't really like loops with a big if statement in 'em.

I have no background or education in CS, and have read very little about automata or state machines, so my terminology and explanation may be a tad noobish.

Can I be saved, or are my goals noble?

• So, you get handed a retractable ball-point pen to write with. Chances are you assume it's in the "retracted" state and click to change state to "ready". Quite often you guessed wrong, and have to click it again. Bad OMI (Operator Machine Interface).

Even worse with a complex piece of software with hundreds of states.

"The road to hell is paved with good intentions."

• ♿ (Parody)

I'm not 100% I understand, but it seems to me like you're adding more code than necessary. Consider what your changeState function *must* look like:

changeState(state) {
     if (state=='inside') pushOut();
     elseif (state=='outside') pullIn();
    }

• I was more looking for discussion on a theoretical subject, rather than code help for something that doesn't exist. :)

• Since you said you love haskell, let me try to show that this can be done in haskell without an "if": (Disclaimer: I don't really know haskell, just doing copy-paste from Wikipedia)