My molecules, let me show you them

•  I just stumbled on this little indie game called SpaceChem which involves designing one or more machines that take a set of atoms/molecules, puts them through a set of transformations and produce a different set of atoms/molecules. To do this you effectively build a two thread program that can run in a loop indefinitely without conflict. The cool part is that as things get more complicated there are more and more different ways to achieve your goal depending on whether you want to optimize for speed or simplicity. Once you're done with a level, the game shows you how your design measures up to other people's. So you design this awesome mechanism, laugh like a mad genius when it finally works, then rage when you see other people's statistics because "godammit I'm a professional" and go back to make it better.

I figured I'd give you a guys a heads up since it's the sort of thing that appeals to the programmer mindset.

• It's on Steam for $15. Sadly it was on sale a week or two ago, I passed because the screenshots and promo stuff doesn't look very impressive. Next time it goes on sale maybe I'll pick it up.

•  Incidentally the demo has 19 levels and at least a day's worth of gameplay. It's what I've played so far.

•  I'ma check it owt

• SpaceChem is on sale at Steam again, today only apparently: $5.09.

• @blakeyrat said:

$5.09

Ah, you mean 5,09.

What the fuck, motherfucking fuckfuckers.

• @dhromed said:

@blakeyrat said:

$5.09

Ah, you mean 5,09.

What the fuck, motherfucking fuckfuckers.

Steam's currency conversion broken?

• Garbage Person

@blakeyrat said:

Nah, pricing is done individually per currency, so they wind up with nice "attractive looking" numbers in every currency. 

• @blakeyrat said:

I guess that's the "benefit of the doubt" way of looking at it.

This happens to all games. Anomaly: Warzone Earth is $9.99, and also €9,99.

It's been like this forever, and I consider it a scam.

• @Weng said: