Two To Tango

• Pair programming!

Discuss.

• I have only tried pair programming once or twice and found that it really did improve productivity. However this was not official pair programming as per Agile but was simply working side by side with my boss. My thoughts about it was that it increased productivity because it eliminated those small breaks that occur when your mind wanders off every now and again (oh look shiny shiny) so you are on the job 100% of the time. Of course working closely with your boss does help you to focus more.

• It works well with two good programmers. Lots of stupid typos or other mistakes can be caught pretty quickly.

When I was in college, we were occasionally required to do pair programming. If the other guy sucks, either you end up writing all the code while he just watches or he just types everything you tell him to without providing any input of his own.

• I've had plenty of experience with the pair programming model, and it is overall much more productive than solo. However, sometimes a developer will get "in the zone" and need some solo time to finish a complex thought without being interrupted by the other.

The best Pair Programming environment I've ever been in is with teams of 3. Two people pair together at a time, leaving the other room to be "in the zone" or to perform away missions such as requirements clarifications or coffee runs.

• It came up at work, and one guy was adamant that we start doing it that way. I kept my mouth shut, but internally, I immediately went on the defensive because I basically feel that two people at one screen is fucking annoying and spends 200% resources for 150% productivitiy at best and 75% productivitiy at worst.

I withheld judgement, though, until I'd thought it through and calmed my knee-jerk.