Questions asked while teaching Windows Vista and Computer Hardware courses

• I was a part-time instructor at a local community college for three years. I enjoyed teaching but my current job no longer affords me the time to do it.

My students were a mix of traditional freshman/sophomores and non-traditional students, including adults looking for a refresher course on technology, those retraining for technology jobs, and those who knew what the power button is but nothing else. 

These are some questions brought up during class. I know these aren't true "WTFs" but I thought we could all use a little laugh.

• "Does a hardrive weigh more when it gets formatted?"
    • (On VMWare, which we used to run the VMs of Vista for the class) "My DVD player thingy is locked up. How do I eject Vista?"
    • "Does using RAID like, keep bugs away or something?" (I kid you not)
    • (Question regarding an external hard drive, which was required for the Vista course to store VMWare machines) "I don't have a hard drive...can I just use these {spindle of CD-Rs} instead?"
    • (Not a question, but humorous anyhow. Again, VMWare is involved.) Student A to Student B: "No, you're on the wrong Vista. You are on the host machine. You need to do that on the parasite machine."

I have some more written down somewhere but I think these were among the best.

• @citking said:

"Does a hardrive weigh more when it gets formatted?"

I've had that question and it led into an interesting discussion of metaphysics.

• @citking said:

"Does using RAID like, keep bugs away or something?" (I kid you not)
    Before, while or after you explained what RAID was?

When I took courses for system administration there was one guy who just couldn't understand why all of the 4GB of RAM wouldn't show up on a 32-bit XP install (despite being explained this multiple times).