Self-taught developers

• A quote from a self-taught developer:
    -----------------------
    Another example is.... Sometimes I write for hours uninterrupted.  I don't
    even stop to compile the code (another bad practice)...  When I finally stop
    writing and compile for errors... by this time, I've written massive
    routines... untested under RunTime and untested as a regular user.   Some of
    these routines branch off into MANY logical branches.... some of which may
    never be tested in the final product because the branches are such that
    they'd be rarely encountered.

• (fixed the spacing I hope)

A quote from a self-taught developer:

-----------------------

Another example is.... Sometimes I write for hours uninterrupted.  I don't even stop to compile the code (another bad practice)...  When I finally stop writing and compile for errors... by this time, I've written massive routines... untested under RunTime and untested as a regular user.   Some of these routines branch off into MANY logical branches.... some of which may never be tested in the final product because the branches are such that they'd be rarely encountered.

• Speaking from self-taught experience, we're not all that bad. That's down-right horrible in fact, heh.

• Not me. I usually stop and compile every couple of lines.

• IMO there is no general rule how often you should compile. It depends on many factors. A COBOL programmer on a big host cannot compile every 10 LOC written; a Eclipse user writing Java compiles on every save, like it or not.

Untested rarely encountered branches are unfortunately not uncommon...
    (consider all the exception handlers in a Java program that handle errors you can hardly, if at all, trigger, like an SQLException on Statement.close() )