Is this password hashing function good enough?

• In the past I have just used PHP's sha1 function to hash my passwords and thought that was good enough. Now I'm sure for most of the applications and web sites it's good enough since they're probably never going to be the target of hackers. And even then the password would most probably be recovered through social engineering or phising, and not through cracking any hashes.

However, I am not working on a system which is a bit more public, has a bit more users and is a little bit more prone to be hacked. So I want to store the passwords a little bit safer than just a SHA1 hash. I hope you can help me a little with this, since I'm new at it. :)

First, could you tell me if my following assumption is correct? I should use a salt with my password, and then save my password plus the salt in the database. It's better to have a unique salt per user (or rather password).

Next, I thought up the following little password function. Now I'm well aware that it's better to re-use any existing function than create my own which are inherently worse than what those genious minds have come up with. Unfortunately the reality with PHP is that often you find "scripts" online which are in fact worse than what you can come up with yourself. So I hope this little function is both "safe enough" (think: thedailywtf.com, think not: biggest credit card company in the world).

[code]function get_salt()
    {
    return substr(sha1(microtime(true)), rand(0, 30), 10);
    }

function get_password($password, $salt)
    {
    $hash =sha1(strrev($password) .strrev($salt));
    for ($i = 0; $i < 100; $i++)
    {
    $hash = sha1($hash . sha1(strrev($hash)));
    }
    return $salt;
    }[/code]