D4t4b4s3 r0x3z

• I should be going to work right now, but I'm going to spend a few minutes with you guys (naturally, I don't have a social life), because I would like to share with you the current model of the application I've been working on in the past six months. The amount of legacy code is simply huge. Now, I'm a good programmer - not an expert - and I agree with almost everything I've read in Code Complete, I'm very passionate about my work and if I could, I would marry my work. My boss constantly reviews my code and guides me where I've overengineered things so my code is far from perfect, but the legacy code I've found is simply terrible and for a while, I even had nightmares about it... There's still a lot of it I didn't understand but here's what I've found until now:

The original designers of this web application thought it would be a good idea to automate everything. We're talking about an application that mainly has to change some records in a database and launch an application on the system so why not create an automated system that you just configure and it creates its own menu based on a structure given in the database? Each page should be attached to a table and the insert/delete/update queries should also be *in* the database so if you had something like a record in the menu table, you'd have a few other records in a form table that connected that record from menu with other records from form_query and each one had its own type: insert / update / delete. If the user was only able to change a setting (like enable/disable something) then you only had one record in form_query which pointed to an update query in the query table. Yes, the records in the query table are queries themselves and they are parametrized using $variable constructs. How do they replace the $variable with its value? Using eval() in PHP!