My cursor is a bunch of lettuce!

• This isn't so much a WTF but more of a funny support story.

At a company I used to work for a long time ago, I was a software engineer and also the 2nd line of support for some tech support issues.  Back then, everyone in tech support had to login to a bunch of different Unix boxes using some terminal program for the Mac.  One afternoon, I got a call from one of the tech support people and she said, "Hey, can you help me?  My cursor is a bunch of lettuce!".  I didn't know what she was talking about, so I went around to tech support to find her but she wasn't around.  I asked her co-worker if he knew anything about this "lettuce cursor thing" and he had no clue.  Later on, I went by her desk again, and saw that when she was logged into one of the Unix machines through the terminal program and she hit the up arrow key to recall the previous command, it would show some escape sequence with a bunch of random letters and other characters.  I laughed so hard when I finally realized what she was really saying (in her thick Boston accent).  I told her co-worker what happened and he had a laugh too.  The next morning before she got in we changed her Mac mouse pointer into a head of lettuce icon.

-the hermit

• So basically, you failed to hear what someone said to you and therefore assumed they were stupid and then to punish her for your own failing decided to mess with her computer. It's amazing what passes for "funny" these days.

• So, in summary: Boston accents are hilarious.

Thanks for your contribution.

• @sootzoo said:

So, in summary: Boston accents are hilarious.

Well, they are. Isn't that the only reason Denis Leary still gets work?

• @Flatline said:

So basically, you failed to hear what someone said to you and therefore assumed they were stupid and then to punish her for your own failing decided to mess with her computer. It's amazing what passes for "funny" these days.