Where to learn coding quality and best-practices

• Heya,

I've been a long-time reader, occasional commenter. I'm an electrical engineer by training, but programmer by trade. I went to school for electrical engineering, which involved some programming, but more from a utilitarian standpoint, rather than being the core focus. I worry that because I didn't specifically go to school for programming that I may be lacking in programming quality and skills; and I want to be able to provide high-quality code if at all possible. I work only with a small number of people, and the codebase is all homegrown, so I have very little exposure to a good, well-layed-out application, and/or methods.

Thus far, I've been able to manage on my own, and try to implement things that I've heard/read about that make sense, everything from best programming practices to overall things, like separation of development and production environments.  There are some big changes in the works here though, and I want to make sure that I'm not left behind. I consider myself relatively smart and able to pick up on things, but again, I work in a vacuum and just don't have exposure to the "right" way of doing things, only my way that happens to work pretty good for me right now. I'd love to find out best practice on things ranging from really high-level concepts (when to use development environment, etc) down to specifics of coding and language (when exceptions are good and bad, when and where to use classes, methods, templates, how to use object-oriented programming in a smart and efficient way, etc). I realize a lot of it is experience in doing it, but some guidelines to start me down the right path would be awesome.