A new paradigm in query strings

• I've inherited a classic ASP web application (WTF #1: the app isn't that old, I'm pretty sure it was written after ASP.NET came out. Why anyone would write in classic ASP anymore is beyond me - although maybe there are reasons; I'm primarily a Java developer so the Microsoft world is a bit unfamiliar to me).

Aaaanyway, I've only been delving into the app for a couple of hours, but I've already had a few WTF moments. Needless to say the app follows what in the Java world we would call "Model 1" architecture - i.e., pretty much all logic in the pages themselves, and (of course) suffers from SQL injection [this app is currently live on the internet]. Oh, and it's currently not in source control. So a nice fun project all round, really.

My 'favourite' thing I've come across so far is a rather interesting way of using query strings, or specifically, abusing them. For example, this is a standard URL:

query_raise.asp?999999999,1,1,,,1,,,,,,

Then, in the ASP page, it performs a split(',') on the query string. This seems stupid to me, given that:

1. I'm sure ASP natively supported getting named parameters, i.e. ?user_id=1 etc.
    2. Name / value pairs are so much easier to deal with - ordering isn't important. splitting a comma delimited string is prone to errors.
    3. What's with all the empty values? As far as I can tell, they're not used - leaving some empty space there just to confuse people?
    Anyway, I may post up with more tales of the classic ASP app as and when I have to dig into it further (oh, the joy).

•  I want to see what happens when a field in the querystring contains a comma.

• @PhillS said:

I'm primarily a Java developer so the Microsoft world is a bit unfamiliar to me.

Don't feel bad, the Microsoft world is a bit unfamiliar to a lot of VS.Net developers too.

• :belt_onion:

@PhillS said: