Norton, C++ and tech support

• OK, after an hour or so with support pages and tech support, i thought i would post these. And no, this is not just another 'L1 tech support sux' type post, the tech support guy i got was actually as helpful as could be expected, given the issue.

A few of you (i suspect very few considering norton's reputation around here) may know that everyone running Norton 360 from last year just got a free upgrade;. For reasons unknown, mine didn't work. After a few tries, a reboot, the standard stuff, i tried the 'support' pages online. The first one (link) told me to install Microsoft Visual C++ 2005. I couldn't work out quite why, but I tried it. Unfortunately the install fails. Then it hits me. 2005? Why the old distro? And secondly, why do i need what i assume to be an interpreter? that must mean that the installer runs.... oh my shizz, the installer isn't compiled? (If i'm wrong here, please correct me, I'm a VERY inexperienced coder). Our first WTF, i think; the installer runs in interpreted C++.

In any case, that didn't work, so on to the next page of support (link). Now it tells me to download Norton's standalone scanner, to check some virus or other isn't blocking a security install. it downloads as an exe, 2.8MB. if you check the second link, you'll see you have to create a folder for the application, but NOT save it there. why? because when you run the application, it unzips a folder of .DLL's and a central application (NSS.exe), which you intended to unzip to the folder you are instructed to create. Why not just send the .zip? EVERYONE has winzip; on Vista you don't even need it. Why wrap it in an exe? WTF? In any case, it came up clean, as i have good net sense (click here for a free virus!) and keep my Norton up to date. I tried the C++ install and the Norton install again; nothing's changed. Our second WTF; a .exe in a .zip in a .exe.