The Server Lab

• My employer is an accounting company, where I work in the security services industry group. We provide generalist and technical security consulting, and I happen to be a manager for the technical testing. Like many other security groups we have a lab, and it's segmented from internal IT for all of those important reasons. In fact the firm's IT group is scared to death of us so much that they ask to be told when someone is considering leaving the company so that they can be treated as a hostile employee.

So our lab happens to be in a 10x6 storage closet. For quite a while we didn't have dedicated cooling. In fact, during the winter we have dedicated HEATING of the lab. Most of our "server" equipment consists of commodity PCs that have been handed down by firm acquisitions. They're usually 3rd hand by the time they get to us. But we essentially have all sorts of desktops running our security tools, websites, databases, etc. About two years ago we started getting decent budgets from IT for new purchases, and started buying blade servers, and practically filled up a rack. Of course we still run the other systems, because the lab manager hasn't had enough time or energy to decommission the systems. Additionally the "lab" is a complete pig sty with empty boxes all over the place, equipment taken out of storage containers and strewn across our lab benches, stacks of unused workstations and laptops all over the place. I won't even mention the hideous cabling messes.