IT internship in the US?

• I am from Europe, studying Business Informatics. I have plenty of IT-related work experience (from my part-time job and summer jobs) ranging from Project Mangement and Software Planning to Programming.  In the 6th semester my curriculum has scheduled an internship for February 2009 preceding bachelor examinations and bachelor thesis. It will last for about three months.
    I would like to do my internship in the US but I do not know how to start because there are a lot of unanswered questions:

Is it common to send unsolicited applications to companies in the US? Try the big corporations? Should I go for an employment agency? Which ones to choose from?
    What about the pay? Where I come from it is common to pay only a fraction of what your work is actually worth if is called "internship". Does this apply to the US as well? Any other recommendations?

•  you should talk to your school about this.  Most universities have full time people that help students connect up with employers.  Yes, it's very normal in the US to send unsolicited resumes.  But it's better if you have an inside connection like your university might be able to provide.  What area of the US are you looking at?  You can expect pretty good pay, but probbaly lower that if you were full time.  When I went from being an intern to full-time at my current company I got like a 45% raise or something like that.  Obviously your question is to vague for me to answer.  Interns are usually much less productive than full time people, so it makes sense to pay them much less.  Furthermore, every employee is payed "only a fraction" of what their work is worth.  Obviously that fractional amount changes, but if it is too large, the company won't make any money, so most employees are paid a fraction of what their work is worth.

• @gerk said: