The Oracle iPro

• I'm studying the above qualification alongside my A+ Certification. Despite apparently being more or less obligatory in the United Kingdom for anyone wanting a PC repair qualification, it has yet to acquire its own Wikipedia entry. This is mildly ominous.

On the surface, it was actually both interesting and extremely useful; we were all given a case study involving a small business whose IT infrastructure was of basement-office-in-Elbonia calibre, and told to draw up a detailed report on how to improve it. This being exactly the kind of thing I want to make a living out of doing, I set about it with great enthusiasm. And then I learned exactly what the iPro seemed to be expecting of me.

• I was told to ditch a questionnaire containing more than twenty detailed and highly specific questions about the recipient's IT skills in favour of a nearly useless one in which recipients were merely asked to rate their skills in five broad areasbetween one and five because, "it'll make for a better report." No, it would make for an infinitely worse report because I'd have to waste several additional man-hours figuring out how much the staff really knew. WTF Level: Mild; I suppose I'm not always going to get to write my own questionnaires, and may as well get used to working with one hand tied behind my back when the ones I'm given were written by some REMF in Marketing.