VBA programmers aren’t that stupid, it the study material

• Ok here is the deal, I’m a par time teacher for a medium consulting en education company.<o:p></o:p>

And sorry to say, the only one in the company who will do VBA courses.<o:p></o:p>
    One of the courses I give is VBA in access, which can be really fun ;)

<st1:GivenName w:st="on">Bud</st1:GivenName> recently we have gotten new material for access 2003 <o:p></o:p>

At one part de teacher manually states that the variant type should be avoided. On which I must agree, sins I’m a programmer I can only see why.<o:p></o:p>
    So at the topic of the MsgBox in VBA it states the return type of the MsgBox is integer.<o:p></o:p>

And that this should be stored in a variable of that type.<o:p></o:p>

Now after explaining this to my student they go about making the cases the new material provided them.<o:p></o:p>
    And it has the following example of how the use the MsgBox:

Private Sub btnClose_Click()

Dim strResult, strTitle, strBody As String

strTitle = "Question"
        strBody = "Are you sure you would like quite?"

strResult = MsgBox(strBody, vbYesNo & vbQuestion, strTitle)  

If strResult = vbYes Then

Application.CloseCurrentDatabase

Else

DoCmd.CancelEvent

End If

End Sub

What is this I see a string, aarrrrggggg.<o:p></o:p>

Will just have to make my own cases, so I can bring the number of post down on this forum ;)<o:p></o:p>

<o:p></o:p>

• It's worse than you think.  strResult and strTitle are actually both variants.  Set a breakpoint and look at the locals window to verify.  The proper bad code is:

Dim strResult As String, strTitle As String, strBody As String

• This means that the code is that I thought.:'( <o:p></o:p>

• And what is that?
    vbYesNo & vbQuestion

??
    Its not C++ !
    Please use
    vbYesNo Or vbQuestion

• @Doker said:

And what is that?
    vbYesNo & vbQuestion

??
    Its not C++ !
    Please use
    vbYesNo Or vbQuestion

The usual syntax is:

vbYesNo + vbQuestion