They said it would be slow

• Okay, so this one takes a shot at me, but think it's kinda funny.

I have been building and troubleshooting PC since about 1986 (we had an 8088 home built clone back then.)  Anyway, it was a couple years after XP came out, I had gotten a bonus from work so I decided to upgrade my windows 95 PC.  I bought a new HDD, new motherboard and a copy of XP.  I pulled out the motherboard, put in the new one, and connected the CD Rom and HDD.  I put the XP CD in the drive and booted the PC.

Right away, it finds the XP CD and starts booting into the install.  I went through all the normal blue screen steps of XP, set up my partitions etc. And watched it started copying the files.  It said something like 20% done. So I got up and went and did some other stuff for about 20 minutes and came back.  It still said 20%.  So I watched it a little bit and the progress never moved.  I went and did some other things came back about an hour later, still 20%.  I ended up going to bed about 2 or 3 hours later, thinking "At least it will be done when I wake up."  I get up in the morning and before going to work, go check it out, it was up to like 40% or something.

Frustrated, I go off to work thinking "I know people said the XP install is slow, but there's gotta be something wrong, it can't be THAT slow."

A 5 minute conversation with a coworker lead me to believe I put the CDROM and HDD on the same IDE ribbon.  I got home, went straight in the office and checked my connections. Sure enough, they were on the same ribbon, with nothing on the slave connector.  I set it up with HDD on master, and CDROM on slave.  XP install was done in under 40 minutes from start to finish.

• That is pretty much un-WTF-y. 

• It was, however, funny and I enjoyed it.