Does the development stack matter?

• I am still studying for a degree, but I have had a few parttime jobs along the way. All of them were Microsoft oriented: SQL Server 2005, IIS, ASP and so on. Now I was always under the impression, that the "stack" doesn't really matter when it comes to being a good programmer. If you can make a great C# & SQL Server 2005 application, you can also make a great Java & Oracle application. Which was somewhat confirmed by this blogpost: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/001054.html 

Now I was browsing for jobs at Google, and I notest they ask for experience in Linux/Unix. Now I don't have Linux experience, and I don't think installing Ubuntu is going to cut it. Say if I worked full time .NET for 5 years, could I apply at a open source shop (not Google specifically)?

• @Ice^^Heat said:

Now I was browsing for jobs at Google, and I notest they ask for experience in Linux/Unix. Now I don't have Linux experience, and I don't think installing Ubuntu is going to cut it. Say if I worked full time .NET for 5 years, could I apply at a open source shop (not Google specifically)?
    You could, but it's probably going to be held against you.  I'd think installing Linux and tinkering would be a great start.  At least then you'd have some comfort level. 

Switching languages is always an issue, regardless of the platform.  But, if your background is in, say, C/C++, switching to *nix means a whole new set of build utilities, which is a much bigger deal than it sounds.  Still, what's the worst that can happen, they turn you down?

• ♿ (Parody)

If you've only ever used one particular stack, you've not shown any adapdability.  If you don't have experience in the desired stack, they have to take it on faith that you'll be able to pick it up.  Note this line:@Coding Horror said:

Platform experience is merely a baseline, not a differentiator of real importance.