Need some advice on 'social' stuff and getting up to speed

• Hey all. I've followed the site for, oh jeeze, awhile now, but never felt compelled to post. That said, it looks like a pretty awesome place to frequent, so here goes:

I'm a coop student (like an intern, but paid) who just got employed by $company. Now, $company wants me to work on a project that a team of four other coop students from my school have been banging on for awhile. It's actually fairly functional - basically a streamlined way for airports to do inspections. The inspectors don't have to carry around a clipboard with all those nasty sheets of paper, just a tablet PC running the client. Looks kinda neat; that's not the part that I need help with.

My perceived problems are twofold. First, I need to get up to speed in the project before everyone on the previous dev team goes back to school. I've got until Friday, and if I weren't starting unexpectedly early (read: during most peoples' spring break), I would have no time whatsoever to talk to them. I've gotten a list of tasks to work on before the next deadline. What questions should I be asking?

Second, as mentioned, the dev team is composed entirely of coop students. This means that they've learned as they've gone; okay, fine, I did the same thing at my last coop job. Mistakes are how you learn, and believe me, I created some horrible, horrible turds while I was getting my feet under me. Anyway, having been down the path of madness and repented (Rands and Joel are handy folk, if you're not in a position to critique their ideas), I'm interested in avoiding that situation again. It's a Microsoft shop, so they use Visual Studio; they've got a Visual SourceSafe server set up somewhere, although I'm not at all sure they know what version control means. To the best of my knowledge:

• there is no spec
    • there is no bug tracking
    • there is no build process