Optimization by voodoo programming

• Well, Alex doesn't seem to have considered this WTF-worty, but I still do, so here it is: Probably the most convoluted

and inefficient method to write an array of bytes to disk in Java - and the guy who wrote it probably though he

was being extra good and efficient by using buffered streams...

The depressing thing is that this code had already been spread by copy+paste when I discovered it. I think 

I exterminated all instances.

byte[] bImg = (byte[]) alRequest.getAttribute(ChartRetrieverConstants.IMG_DATA);

File file = tmpFile.getFile();

BufferedInputStream bis = new BufferedInputStream(new ByteArrayInputStream(bImg));

BufferedOutputStream bos = new BufferedOutputStream(new FileOutputStream(file));

int numBytesRead;

while ((numBytesRead = bis.read()) != -1)

{

bos.write(numBytesRead);

}

bis.close();

bos.flush();

bos.close();

• I'm no Java programmer, so I'm guessing from API docs here, but is this a better way to do it?

byte[] bImg = (byte[]) alRequest.getAttribute(ChartRetrieverConstants.IMG_DATA);
    BufferedOutputStream bos = new BufferedOutputStream(new FileOutputStream(tmpFile.getFile()));
    bos.write(
    bImg);
    bos.close();

At least one WTF in the code is obvious: bos.close() implies bos.flush(), according to the API docs.

• @farnz said:

I'm no Java programmer, so I'm guessing from API docs here, but is this a better way to do it?

BufferedOutputStream bos = new BufferedOutputStream(new FileOutputStream(tmpFile.getFile()));
    bos.write(
    bImg);
    bos.close();

Close. You can leave out the BufferedOutputStream too, it's only additional overhead here.

@farnz said:

At least one WTF in the code is obvious: bos.close() implies bos.flush(), according to the API docs.