Why is Everybody so clueless on the importance of Desktop Search to the Masses?

• I have been building this Desktop Search since 1999.

The visual basic code is Open Source and the exe is
    downloadable.

I have been blogging and yapping about search in various
    forums. Only to meet with Great resistance.

When I can organize my video, music, pictures and text
    there isn't another program that I really need. With
    Open Source and this Desktop Search the Operating System
    becomes irrelevant.

It started as a text search, then picture display was added
    when we scanned in 5000+ old family album pictures.

When a search match was found and the next line, had the path
    to a picture. That picture was displayed. It runs manual and
    as a screen saver. After a few seconds the caption on the picture
    can be displayed or not.

Then came VIDEO. With slow motion, Freeze frame with Preset or
    Random start points in the video (mpeg2). Similar options were
    added for music files (mp3)

Video is by far the most exciting part of Search. I can video
    in a book and go directly to a given page and play that back
    in slow motion. I can video in forum screens.

It has other important features any Search should have.
    Ie EXTRACT. I do a context search for a particular "Subject:"
    in my outmail file to build a mailing list from old emails. Then
    I search that file in matching lines only mode; searching for "To:"
    and I have all the email addresses in an output file. A little editing
    removing duplicates etc and I have a clean list. I duplicate that
    info with a cut and paste. resort it. The plug the required info
    for my search in front of line 1 and 2 rather quickly.

If the Next line is a URL or strictly text, that data can be put in
    the clipboard for pasting into a browser or as a search string or for
    storing passwords.

It can run background copies of itself and has some primitive