Greetings / Req. for Career Advice

• Hello and welcome to my second post ever on wtf:

I would like advice on what to do now to maximize the likelihood of future success in the tech. industry.

I am 28, got a BA in a liberal art, went back to school for CS and am currently in a good, but not elite, MS program in CS (expected graduation in summer 2008).  (Since, unfortunately, it matters, the school is ranked #15 on the USNews list.  I may or may not have altered that number by 1 ... I don't want to spark a school vs. school argument)  I anticipate, based on past performance, being able to maintain a gpa over 3.8, if not a 4.0.  I mention this not to brag, but because I believe it will have an influence on what doors will be open to me after graduation.

What I consider my biggest problem is that I have no professional experience as a developer, and I've never written anything that wasn't a school assignment.  Accordingly, I don't really know any development environment or API intimately, save perhaps console programming in C++.

What I do know is this:  I like architecture design, it reminds me of playing with Legos.  I like AI, particularly when simple rules create complex emergent behavior.  Thanks to my theory professor at my last college, I am very comfortable with theory of computation.  Finally, it is very important to me to program to accomplish "something else," in other words, I am not very interested in programming for the sake of programming.

I am not the kind of guy who installs Linux and spends his free time tinkering with it just to automate process X (but I will download that kind of person's source code and enjoy the fruit of his/her labor).  I like the idea of programming something like a haptic feedback controller for a prosthetic leg (idea taken from a poster at school -- I did not think that up myself).