The Workflow Engine

• Earlier this year I was working for a local insurance company that I will refer to as Icarus.

I had been working for Icarus for 4 months at that point and actually enjoyed my job. However, I had completed all of the projects that I was contracted to do, but still had two months left on my contract. My boss enjoyed me and thought that I might be able to help his friend out who was the head of another department, the WorkFlow Team.

I met with the head of the team. For a half of an hour of telling me how they were using the latest technology and programming languages and solving a lot of challenging problems. She offered to have me help her team for the last 2 months of my contract and possibly extend me indefinately. Being the nieve person I was, this sounded great.

After a couple of weeks of cutting my teeth doing support, and with the leave of another consultant, I found myself programming the latest creation ... The WorkFlow Engine.

The Workflow Engine's concept was born as a way to use a common architecture to allow all of the Workflow's processes to be run under. The goal was to have the Engine running 24x7, processing what it needed to as files came in from the mainframes and other areas. The Engine was built in C# and used a very flexible architecture with references, config files, cloning and other steps to provide a pretty good environment. Each part of the processing was broken into process steps, so that common functionality could be shared like building blocks.