A WTF? or common practice

• I'm new here, i'm new to programming. I just graduated and took my first job, i support a variety of web applications within a team of programmers and support engineers. My first job is looking at an application that calls a bunch of XML/XSL, HTML and JSP pages.

The XSL pages are all stored in records in an oracle database, I've never heard of it being done this way before and i just wondered if it was a common practice and there was a reason for it beyond what i could understand.

• @djbaker2 said:

I'm new here, i'm new to programming. I just graduated and took my first job, i support a variety of web applications within a team of programmers and support engineers. My first job is looking at an application that calls a bunch of XML/XSL, HTML and JSP pages.

The XSL pages are all stored in records in an oracle database, I've never heard of it being done this way before and i just wondered if it was a common practice and there was a reason for it beyond what i could understand.

It is a common form of insanity. 

• LOL. It didn't seem right to me.

• @djbaker2 said:

I'm new here, i'm new to programming. I just graduated and took my first job, i support a variety of web applications within a team of programmers and support engineers. My first job is looking at an application that calls a bunch of XML/XSL, HTML and JSP pages.

Spend enough time on this site, and it'll seem like common practice.

• You might start to think it is best practise, because when you are at that point, it really doesn't matter anymore.

• Of course this is good practice. In fact, the only reason for the operating system and its file system to exist is so it can host an Oracle database system.

• @bstorer said:

Spend enough time on this site, and it'll seem like common practice.

Probably because it is. (That doesn't mean it's not insane, just that there are a lot of crazy people with computers)