00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000001 Guid Fun

• I've browsed this site for a while but have never really had much to contribute.  I've been a developer for a number of years and on numerous projects so have seen a lot of crazy code, but since being at my current place of work since January I feel I could pretty much write a WTF book.

I'll start with a quick overview of the team.  I joined as a contractor to work on a green field application that is about as complex as a 20 piece jigsaw.  It's a small team with a Project Manager, Lead Developer, and another developer.  Both the PM and lead dev have worked at the company for numerous years on a legacy C++ application that has become monolithic and difficult to maintain.  They have had very little experience with software architecture, and almost no .NET experience which is what we're using to develop the system with.  I think this is the root of the numerous problems we have suffered, and after four months of development we are still very much at square one and banging our heads on every wall we encounter.

Our Lead Developer kicked off some Web Service code a few months ago.  He created a GetScreenDetails() web method that was apparently very useful as it contained almost everything you could ever imagine - a nice large hierarchy of objects named as xxxDetails this and xxxHeader that.  The idea that drove him to do it this way was for efficiency and speed.  If you only need to call the Web Service once to get back a representation of the entire database then surely that will save a lot of time, even if you only need a small subset of that data.  The mass of Detail and Header objects was said to be a result of using the Web Service Software Factory.  Need I mention that there was absolutely no regard to validation, security, or even logic within this Web Service, but I'm sure the motivation behind all that was to keep performance up...