Qtperlcode4u@myspace.com

• This is just something I was messing around with while at work.  I'm a total noob, and constructed this from reading a few sections in a perl book I found on perl.org.  Could someone check this out and let me know if there's a more elegant way to achieve similar results?

This code loads a bunch of variables into an array (list?), which is then checked to see if any of the elements are blank.  If an element does contain a string, it dumps that string into ANOTHER array, which formats the string with an html <br> tag at the end.

So, what I end up with is an array (list?) holding the modified strings that I need to access later.

Please take a look and let me know if there's a better way to do this.  I read a little on foreach loops but didn't have the time to really understand how they work.  I just went with what I was familiar with (a while loop).  Thanks.

@array = ($Service, $Performance, $Innovation, $Respect, $Integrity, $Teamwork);

my @list;
    my $c = 0;
    my $i = 0;

while ($i < @array) {
        if ($array[$i] ne "") {
            $list[$c] = "$array[$i]<br>";
            $c++;
        }
        $i++;
    }

• perl has builtin functions to handle lists without using location variables, so you can do this:

my @array = ($Service, $Performance, $Innovation, $Respect, $Integrity, $Teamwork);

my @list;

foreach $entry (@array){

if($entry ne ""){

push @list, "$entry<br>"; 

}else{

# do nothing ( psst, you dont really need the else case, but I like them. )

}

From what I understand, foreach can be defined as follows:

foreach $entry (@array) {

// code goes here

}

is equal to

for($i=0;$i<@array;$i++){

$entry=$array[$i];

//code goes here

}

• @fumoh said:

Could someone check this out and let me know if there's a more elegant way to achieve similar results?

TMTOWTDI. Always.

This code loads a bunch of variables into an array (list?)