The Linux command line sucks

• :belt_onion:

@boomzilla said in The Linux command line sucks:

However, I still like using the CLI for doing stuff.

So do I. I'm a system administrator. Let's take a hypothetical scenario. If I'm in a folder of Oracle dump files and I want to move all of the ones bigger than 2G (that don't contain PROD on their name), off the top of my head I can do a dir | where-object filesize -gt (2*1024*1024*1024) | where-object name -notcontains PROD | foreach-object { move $_ /u10/archive/ }... or I can look up what the hell combination of find parameters that is (note that my servers don't have outbound Internet access so I have to context switch to another machine for that Stack Exchange spree) and end up with a command that's much less intuitive to me and everyone else.

I'm not arguing PowerShell is a better programming environment but that it really is a better shell day-in and day-out. YMMV, of course; switching shells is always going to take some getting used to.

• Considered Harmful

@dragnslcr Certainly worse than standardizing, it, though (for example Get-Help for PS).

• ♿ (Parody)

@heterodox said in The Linux command line sucks:

So do I. I'm a system administrator. Let's take a hypothetical scenario. If I'm in a folder of Oracle dump files and I want to move all of the ones bigger than 2G (that don't contain PROD on their name), off the top of my head I can do a dir | where-object filesize -gt (2*1024*1024*1024) | where-object name -notcontains PROD | foreach-object { move $_ /u10/archive/ }... or I can look up what the hell combination of find parameters that is (note that my servers don't have outbound Internet access so I have to context switch to another machine for that Stack Exchange spree) and end up with a command that's much less intuitive to me and everyone else.

Eh...either way seems painful, but I don't have to do anything remotely like that.

• Considered Harmful

This post is deleted!

• area_can