How much HTML/CSS knowledge do web designers/developers need?

• So as I posted in a thread, I teach a 1 semester basic web design class at the high-school level. The curriculum is entirely in my hands. I've taught it now 4 times, and each time I change it up and re-think things. At this point, I only teach HTML 5 and CSS 3. No javascript or frameworks or bootstrap--all hand entered static HTML and CSS.

I'm entirely self-taught in all my tech stuff, and have never held a job where web development/design was part of the official duties. In fact, everything I know about it I taught myself in preparation for teaching this class (hey, it was better than the other options for electives).

I'd like to hear from those of you who actually do this for a living.

1. Imagine you were hiring a junior intern-level web designer. What skills would you expect that person to have?
    2. How much do you actually directly enter HTML tags/CSS rules? Is there a large variation between different web design jobs?
    3. What positions would focus more on these skills (HTML and CSS)? Front-end design (or is that mostly done with tools/forcing javascript to emit HTML/CSS)?

Any other suggestions as to what I should focus on would be greatly appreciated. Suggestions to teach them Node.js will be summarily ignored.

Note: the kids who take this class range from self-taught geniuses to seniors who need another art credit but don't want to draw.

• @Benjamin-Hall I think there is a lot of variation there. I survived a long time only doing JavaScript enough to do a few validations on forms, but there are places that focus heavily on the front end and their frameworks. A NodeBB developer would need to know a lot of this stuff.

• @Benjamin-Hall said in How much HTML/CSS knowledge do web designers/developers need?:

At this point, I only teach HTML 5 and CSS 3. No javascript or frameworks or bootstrap--all hand entered static HTML and CSS.