Oracle vs. Postgres, the choice is obvious

• I'm a programmer, not a dba.  Of course I know how to setup a database system create my users set my permissions and create my schema.  I know the basics of a relational database system: SQL, triggers, stored procedures, etc.  For years I've used Postgres and MySQL with no problems.  I've enjoyed luxuries like auto incrementing numeric fields, more than one unlimited text field in a table, not being required to specify the data file on the file system and decide how big I want it to be, using a client app that supports things like backspace, moving the cursor and history (sqlplus doesn't work very well on linux or solaris).  These small things I had to kiss goodbye when I started working at my current job, because here we use Oracle.  I've had the pleasure of discovering that when you close a jdbc statement, result set or connection, it doesn't actually close.  Instead it becomes "inactive" and eventually your database will stop accepting connections.  I know that this can be solved by changing some default settings, but like I said, I am a programmer not a dba.

I'm not trying to rag on Oracle here, although I think they could work harder to make their product more convienient, I realize that this would mean lots of money in training courses, and consultants out the window.  The point I am trying to make is Oracle only makes sense for those huge shops dealing with millions of hits a month and who employ at least one full time Oracle dba.  Where I work, we have managers who have decided that we need to use Oracle, but don't understand the difference between Oracle, Postgres, MySQL, their ass,...   And then who ends up spending their time administering the Oracle servers and not programming?  Me!  So maybe I am a dba and not a programmer, maybe I need a new job.

• Backspace not working is not the fault of SQL*Plus. Setup your terminal window correctly.