Would you program for Syllable?

• Hi all,

Syllable is a new open source operating system. It is aimed at small office and home users. It has a nice API and a very simple and powerful toolkit (similar to BeOS's).

But why almost no one made any application for it except the main developers? Why no one helps them despite Syllable being the future of open source desktop OS's?

I waited for desktop Linux for too long, but entropy keeps that from happening.

Syllable is neither Linux nor BSD, it is made from scratch. By learning the others' mistakes. It's a chance to start over.

It has a new journaled file system with arbitrary file attributes, a new media system, a simple application management system a la Mac OS (just unzip the application to /Applications), etc. etc.

You don't have to be an "30-years-old-hacker-who-haven't-showered-since-last-month" to write an application for it, just grip the basics of C++ (yes the OS uses C++) and some coffee. I'm a noob and I'm writing an application for it, and everything is going fine!!

P.S: I'm -admittedly- a Syllable fanboy.  

• Honestly, I think that Linux and BSD are good enough as desktop alternatives. Maybe Syllable has some strenghs Linux is missing, but I would rather work on improving the Linux desktop experience than write software for yet-another obscure operating system.

• I have to agree with ammoQ here.  Although this work is a great learning environment, as it sounds like a simplified OS, it's probably not "the future of open source desktop OS's".  ...well it might be somewhere in the future, since it'll take them years to catch up to linux in terms of features.  Maybe by then, it'll be "the future" :P

I also had to cringe at the one line in their feature list:  "A full GUI is built into the OS". That's been my biggest beef against Windows; when the desktop goes, the entire system goes.