You WILL submit this image in an inappropriate manner.

• Waves Noob here, hi!

So I'm applying to the University of Pennsylvania at the moment. (Don't ever do this.  After the hell that is their application, I am seriously reconsidering this school as a viable college option.  There is wtfery all around.  Vague instructions, mistakes, etc.)

There is a section where you can submit a photo of yourself.  This is how the instructions go:

Please insert your photo as a picture in a word document. Do not upload files of any other type. No JPG files, please.

I've heard of the less tech-savvy using MSWord's tools as a simple image editor, but why would you ever want thousands of applicants sending you images globbed up in .docs?

[Sorry if this isn't appropriate for General; I can't post in Sidebar, and I assume need to gain the proper status first?]

-Stacy

• Do they state that the image must a film photo, put on a wooden table, digitally photographed at the max resolution, and then pasted into a word doc?

• I think the bigger WTF is that they wanted a picture of applicant - at all.  I just don't understand the relevance of a photo to the admissions process.  Why junk up your system with irrelevant data? 

And you should be able to post in the Sidebar - it's open to everyone.  Blame it on the forum software, it takes a little time to get used to.

• A lot of schools these days have studen ID cards, lots of times with a picture of the student on them (access to on-campus resources, student discounts, etc).  I guess it's easier to get a picture with the application rather than try to get one after somebody is accepted.  It is a little strange/lazy, but I wouldn't call it a WTF.

It is quite bizarre to request it inside a Word document, though.

• [Yah, now for some reason I can post in Sidebar.  When I first visited, the "New Post" button was simply absent from the page. Meh.]