WTF-as-a-service!

• ok, here we are in "today" - we've kicked off the information age; moving down the field some. Yet, cloud is up n coming. Some might say we've been there for a while. Ok, maybe. Actually, cloud was in existence long before the term was even used - not by virtue of the Internet just "existing" - but even back in the early 90's where we had application service providers - and I would even contend that email in and of itself was considered a service, no different than phone actually.

But, we've applied a "modern" term to all of that - and called it cloud. But, today's cloud, by deliberate intent, is really a utility; whether or not you pay for it, it is an electronic offering - and it's everywhere... almost every possible industry has clouded something...

and I hate it. it scares the excrement out of me...

to add fuel to the fire of the sound of my barbaric yawp - I do web development for a living... imagine that.

so, let me qualify my yawp-ness.

I have been in the IT industry for close to 20 years - serving just about every aspect (i.e. consulting, working for ISP's, and web development)

I love what I do - coding is exciting to me. I love the fact that I can create / invent. it's rewarding.

But, over the last couple years the disposition of the internet has really changed, to cloud - we have become more and more dependent - not because we have ourselves wrapped around google and the like - but we have now started to put ourselves in the hands of others... we don't just seek information, we are taking our lives and storing it someplace else...

let me pause for a moment to interject a thought - it occurred to me a few years ago that it's not so much that the internet allows us to connect / communicate / share with others; it is now doubled back as a utility so we can stay connected to ourselves. we have all these connected devices and all these 3rd party cloudy things that store information and we sync with ourselves...