Do your research WTF

• Continuing the discussion from A Million Lines of Bad Code [article]:

@dstopia said:

I'm self taught and I make a bunch of mistakes all the time. One of the first projects I had full control of in Java involved me building JSON by hand because I didn't even know what JSON was. Imagine the embarrassment once I found out what it was -- which was long after I wasn't in control of the project anymore. In my defense, I was given less than two weeks to implement something I had estimated in six. Hey, at least it worked!

It is something you get better at the more you do. One thing I'm quite proud to be good at is that I pick up stuff fairly fast, which helps a lot now that I'm maintaining an application practically by myself.

This reminds me of a WTF from my early programming days.

Back in the early 2000s, I was, among other things, into Delphi 7 and music. So, as a mostly self-taught and pretty isolated programmer "computer guy", I decided to make a Windows app to organize my huge collection of MP3-s. Multi-rename files, set ID3-s from filenames, filenames from ID3, etc. The kind of stuff you'd nowdays do with mp3tag or just let iTunes mangle for you.

Either way, I soon had the basics working. In an early version, you could do something like: "rename all files to {Id3Num} - {Id3Title}.mp3".

But I wanted more. I thought, wouldn't it be cool if users could capture arbitrary parts of the input string and use them in the output? And maybe even combine them with the arbitrary variables from the file metadata? And.. and, perhaps you could tell it to capture just the digits... and and specify the wanted length!?

It wasn't easy. But I persevered, hacked at this huge nested loop algorithm, and finally got it working. So in version 2, you could do something like this:

Search : *{artist} - *{song}.mp3
    Replace: {artist} - ~num - {song}.mp3

I was so proud of myself. I thought I was the biggest genius to have invented something so useful.