Need Help

• First, apologies for the post in this space - no clue as to the proper place to ask for help.

I know *zilch* about writing web pages (I'm a CPA). I have a small site with a couple of static pages, mostly canned text and a few convenience links for my clients.

Someone snagged the letterhead off the website, changed the phone number, and used it as a letter of credit to a bank. The bank recognized that the area code didn't match the address, looked me up, and called to verify. We had the guy arrested.

Question: how do I prevent someone from grabbing the drawn letter head off the browser? Can it even be done?

Again, apologies for the post in this space, but would appreciate advice!

Thanks,

Rob

• It cannot be done.  If it's visible on the screen, it can be captured.  There is no way around that.

• There is no way humanly (or inhumanly) possible to prevent this aside from taking the letterhead off of the website. As long as it is being displayed on the screen, there are half a dozen ways to get the image no matter what you do.

First off, all images are downloaded into the browser cache, which is simply just a folder of images on your computer that you can navigate to and copy the image out, as long as you know where to look.

You can right-click the image and choose "Save image as...", a much easier solution.

Maybe you figure out some way to get around all that, maybe by making the entire website based on Flash animation that can't be saved as regular image files. Well, a person can still screenshot the web browser, crop out the extra crap and still end up with your letterhead with about 15 seconds worth of effort.

Sorry dude.

• Ah well. Thanks for the info - very much appreciated.