Ancient history

• This is very old (well, early 90s) but I felt like reporting a WTF I was involved in back then.  Before I start, I would like to point out that I was an actuarial student back then & had no formal IT training.

We were working on a system to provide illustrated benefits for some obscure scenario that the main illustration system couldn't handle.  I was involved with specifying the mathematical formulae and testing the numbers that came out.

Someone else created a Fortran program which read a text file for inputs, calculated the illustrations, and wrote the results out to another text file.  No Fortran wasn't the WTF - a perfectly reasonable language to do mathematical caculations.

I created a spreadsheet (Lotus 123 back then) front end which could write the input file, run the program and read the output file.  OK, getting a bit messy but it's still not the WTF.  This is before I'd even heard of VB.  It worked and the calcualations were far faster than doing everything in the spreadsheet.

"The Real WTF" came after the test program had been tested by yours truly.  The powers that be decided it was going to be too expensive to build this as a mainframe solution for such a small product.  Since they already had a program that worked ...you can see where this is going, can't you?

That wasn't the end of the story.  There are strict rules about the layout and wording of illustrations, far beyond the printing capabilities of Lotus 123.  Thus, I was called on again.  My brillant solution was to to create a Word Perfect merge document, using the fields from the output text file.