Improving code architecture?

• 🚽 Regular

Hopefully someone can suggest the best book(s) for this, the selection available on Amazon is mind-boggling.

I'm self-taught except for a little ASM, C and Object Pascal at Uni during my EE degree and I'd like to improve the structures of my programs.

I don't think I use OO features enough, and when I have multi-threaded things accepting data, processing and transforming it I struggle with synchronisation and juggling objects between different parts of the program. It just doesn't feel easy or polished enough once the programs get large.

Any suggestions gladly accepted!

• I think the thing that inspired me the most wasn't any sort of book, but this guy:

He has about a hundred or so videos where he fires up vim and just goes on refactoring and messing around in rails and python. Even though I'm not using pretty much any of his technologies professionally (TDD, ruby, python, vim), it's really interesting to see first hand the way he thinks about code structure and patterns.

Also, really impressive vim usage too. I mean, I'm an IDE guy and all, but looking at him, I can see why some people feel investing several years into mastering vim might be worthwhile.

• I think Head-First design patterns might be the most learnifying book, but others might argue for something different.

I think the more important thing is to consider the approach you are taking, as I wouldn't be surprised if you are coding to the user interface, rather than anything else.

Do you end up with massive amounts of code in your UI backing classes? Do you have a class for each form in your application, and all your code for that form lives in that class? if so, you are probably making one of the more common mistakes.