Data Redaction Done Oracle-Style

• The redaction features in 12c are designed to automatically protect sensitive database material by either totally obscuring column data or partially masking it – for example, recalling just the last four digits of a US social security number when a search query is run.

I'm no SQL expert, but isn't that basically a view?

• Yes, you could indeed do that in a view.

• BINNED

@anonymous234 said:

I'm no SQL expert, but isn't that basically a view?

How dare you describe such advanced functionality in such simplistic terms? Don't you know that all things that cost money have to sound and be devilishly complex?

Views. Pish. MySQL has views. You cannot compare the awesome that is Oracle with something as elementary as MySQL. It's "redaction features"!

• Views are more powerful than redaction ;)

• I dunno. I'm a little bit with Oracle on this one.

This isn't a "oh man you can count on this to secure EVERYTHING" feature. This is more a "DBAs don't need to see how much other people get paid while debugging a query" feature. In the latter case, security is not very important... you gotta trust the DBAs at some point anyway.

• I think it's just Oracle marketing it as this big new feature that is supposed to be security.

In fact it's part of their "Oracle Advanced Security"

It's like they decided to bring the TSA to Oracle.

• @blakeyrat said:

"DBAs don't need to see how much other people get paid while debugging a query"

Except when they do, because the query crashes for seemingly random records, and you have to figure out somehow that it happens when two people have the same salary.

I'm not sure about Oracle, but I've run into it with MS SQL - it blows up when you treat an inner query result set as a single datum (eg. comparing it with something), and it suddenly returns more than one row.

• Look, I'm not fucking saying it's a magical balm that solves all DB problems ever in the history of ever.